Saudi Oral Health Data Hub

Consolidated, source-cited oral health statistics for Saudi Arabia: caries, periodontal disease, dental workforce, Saudization, diabetes, shisha use, oral cancer and utilization.

Total metrics
84
Last data change
26 Sept 2026
Data sources
31
  • Saudization rate dentists: 58.1% — National (2024); Rising; high confidence; last verified 26 Sept 2026. From the GaStat/MOH 2024 series whose total of 33,751 dentists is not comparable with the 25,970 reported for 2023 by Kattan 2026 (different cadre definition, coverage or reporting methodology). Read as a 2024 point estimate only. Source: Calculated from GaStat — source link
  • Complete edentulism, dental-school patients 35+: 4.2% — Jeddah (2018-2021); Stable; low confidence; last verified 5 Aug 2026. Retrospective review of 12,428 panoramic radiographs of patients aged 35+ at a Jeddah dental school; treatment-seeking population, not community representative. Source: Cureus 2022;14(12):e32334 — source link
  • Complete edentulism, patients over 65: 4.5% — Jeddah (2018-2021); Stable; low confidence; last verified 5 Aug 2026. Highest rate of any age band in the same dental-school radiograph review (305 cases). Clinic sample, not a survey of the over-65 population. Source: Cureus 2022;14(12):e32334 — source link
  • Total dentists KSA: 33,751 dentists — National (2024); Rising; high confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Not comparable with the 25,970 dentists reported by Kattan 2026 (PLOS ONE) for 2023. The roughly 30% difference may reflect a changed cadre definition (dentists only versus dentists plus dental specialists or auxiliaries), different registry coverage, or a different reporting methodology. Source definitions are not documented in enough detail to verify the exact difference, so this is a standalone point estimate — do not read one-year workforce growth from the two figures. Source: GaStat (republishing MOH Statistical Yearbook) — source link
  • Saudi dentist density 2020: 6.33 per 10,000 — National (2020); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 26 Sept 2026. Metric definition: UN/WHO SDG indicator 3.c.1 "Density of dentists" for Saudi Arabia in 2020, covering ISCO-08 code 2261 (dentists only). Kattan et al. cite about 6.8 per 10,000 for the same year from "UN statistics 2020"; that figure counts the broader dentistry-personnel cadre (dentists plus dental auxiliaries), which is why it is higher. The difference is a cadre-definition difference, not a disagreement about the workforce. Both are unweighted national densities. Source: UN Statistics — source link
  • Caries prevalence age 6 (MOH awareness page, undated): 96% — National (administrative claim) (Year not stated); Point estimate; low confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Historical/administrative claim, not a definitive national estimate. The MOH oral-health awareness page states no study year, sample size, survey design or methodology, so it cannot be assessed for representativeness. The nationwide 2023 cross-sectional survey by Orfali et al. (DOI 10.1016/j.sdentj.2023.09.008) is methodologically stronger and materially lower: 72.1% at age 6 versus 96% here. Source: Ministry of Health (MOH) — source link
  • No prosthesis, mandibular arch: 69.6% — Riyadh (2018-2019); Point estimate; low confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Table 2 status: 430/618 (69.6%) had no mandibular prosthesis. This is not treatment need (abstract need approx. 29%). Same clinic cohort (n=618, ages 35-74, Sep 2018-Jan 2019). 2020 paper = missing teeth; 2025 paper = prosthetic status/need. 51.8% of the sample is aged 35-44. Source: Prosthodontic status and treatment need among adults in Riyadh City, J Family Med Prim Care 2025 — source link
  • No prosthesis, maxillary arch: 65.5% — Riyadh (2018-2019); Point estimate; low confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Table 2 status: 405/618 (65.5%) had no maxillary prosthesis. This is not treatment need (abstract need 51.8%). Same clinic cohort (n=618, ages 35-74, Sep 2018-Jan 2019). 2020 paper = missing teeth; 2025 paper = prosthetic status/need. 51.8% of the sample is aged 35-44. Source: Prosthodontic status and treatment need among adults in Riyadh City, J Family Med Prim Care 2025 — source link
  • Adults with moderate periodontal pocketing (Jazan): 46.1% — Jazan (2018); Point estimate; medium confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Sample of 204 adults, 84% male. Same single study as the 57.8% attachment-loss card. Source: Journal of International Medicine and Dentistry 2018 — source link
  • Caries prevalence age 12 (MOH awareness page, undated): 93.7% — National (administrative claim) (Year not stated); Point estimate; low confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Historical/administrative claim, not a definitive national estimate. The MOH oral-health awareness page states no study year, sample size, survey design or methodology. The nationwide 2023 cross-sectional survey by Orfali et al. (DOI 10.1016/j.sdentj.2023.09.008) is methodologically stronger and materially lower: 57.9% at age 12 versus 93.7% here. Source: Ministry of Health (MOH) — source link
  • MOH dental centers: 40 centers — National (2019); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. MOH Health Indicators 2019 lists 40 MOH dental centers. A previously published figure of 210 was taken from the adjacent renal-dialysis row and has been corrected. Source: Ministry of Health (MOH) — source link
  • Caries prevalence age 9-12 (Al-Madinah): 85.1% — Al-Madinah (2021); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Aqeeli et al., 2021 (PubMed 34938031) — source link
  • Untreated caries age 9-12 (Al-Madinah): 76.1% — Al-Madinah (2021); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Aqeeli et al., 2021 (PubMed 34938031) — source link
  • Saudi dental practitioners (MOH 2026 news): >32,000 dentists — National (2026); Point estimate; medium confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. MOH news 23 May 2026: Saudi dental practitioners exceeding 32,000 (357% vs 2015) and 107.6 dentists per 100,000. Figure is a stated floor, not an exact count. Not comparable to GaStat employed headcounts (19,598 / 33,751). Source: Ministry of Health (MOH) — source link
  • Caries prevalence age 6 (Riyadh region): 85.77% — Riyadh (2019); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Al-Rafee et al., Frontiers in Public Health 2019 — source link
  • Caries prevalence male students 15-17 (Abha): 72.9% — Aseer (Abha) (2018); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Alshahrani et al., 2018 (PubMed 29942105) — source link
  • Localized chronic gingivitis female patients (Aseer): 46.6% — Aseer (2017); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Published 2017 (2019 is the repository deposit year). Share among women who already had periodontal disease, not all female patients. Source: Chronic periodontitis among female patients, Aseer Region (PubMed 31435246) — source link
  • Gingivitis share among diseased outpatients (Abha): 63.2% — Aseer (Abha) (2009); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Share within 2,739 outpatients who all had periodontal disease - not a population prevalence. Data collected 2009. Source: King Khalid University outpatient review, City Dental College Journal — source link
  • HNC male: 64.4% — National (2016-2020); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 5 Aug 2026. Share of the cumulative 2016-2020 head & neck cancer cases. Source: Homeida L. 2025, J Contemporary Medical Sciences (Saudi Cancer Registry 2016-2020) — source link
  • HNC age-standardised incidence rate: 3.68 per 100k — National (2016-2020); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 5 Aug 2026. Mean age-standardised rate across 2016-2020. Source: Homeida L. 2025, J Contemporary Medical Sciences (Saudi Cancer Registry 2016-2020) — source link
  • HNC incidence rate, males: 4.94 per 100k — National (2016-2020); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 5 Aug 2026. Mean age-standardised rate, males, 2016-2020. Source: Homeida L. 2025, J Contemporary Medical Sciences (Saudi Cancer Registry 2016-2020) — source link
  • HNC incidence rate, females: 2.9 per 100k — National (2016-2020); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 5 Aug 2026. Mean age-standardised rate, females, 2016-2020. Source: Homeida L. 2025, J Contemporary Medical Sciences (Saudi Cancer Registry 2016-2020) — source link
  • HNC incidence rate, highest region (Jazan): 5.3 per 100k — Jazan (2016-2020); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 5 Aug 2026. Highest regional age-standardised rate in the registry period. Source: Homeida L. 2025, J Contemporary Medical Sciences (Saudi Cancer Registry 2016-2020) — source link
  • HNC incidence rate, lowest region (Ha'il): 2.22 per 100k — Ha'il (2016-2020); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 5 Aug 2026. Lowest regional age-standardised rate in the registry period. Source: Homeida L. 2025, J Contemporary Medical Sciences (Saudi Cancer Registry 2016-2020) — source link
  • Saudi dentists: 19,598 dentists — National (2024); Rising; high confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. From the GaStat/MOH 2024 series whose total of 33,751 dentists is not comparable with the 25,970 reported for 2023 by Kattan 2026 (different cadre definition, coverage or reporting methodology). Read as a 2024 point estimate only. Source: GaStat (republishing MOH Statistical Yearbook) — source link
  • Periodontitis share among diseased outpatients (Abha): 36.8% — Aseer (Abha) (2009); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Complement of the gingivitis share within the same all-diseased sample. Data collected 2009. Source: King Khalid University outpatient review, City Dental College Journal — source link
  • Untreated decay schoolchildren Jeddah: 86.1% — Makkah (Jeddah) (2025); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. School survey of 8,215 public-school children in Jeddah. Untreated decay only - do not confuse with overall caries prevalence of 91.2%. Source: Meisha et al., J Clin Pediatr Dent 2025;49(6):102-110 — source link
  • Caries prevalence, adult clinic patients (Jazan): 94.6% — Jazan (2025); Stable; low confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Clinic convenience sample of 312 adult walk-in patients at four dental centers in Jazan: 295/312 had caries and 295/312 were women - the same percentage twice, not two different rates. Not a national estimate. Source: Bokhari et al., Med Sci Monit 2025;31:e947100 — source link
  • Caries prevalence age 12 (Riyadh region): 64.98% — Riyadh (2019); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Permanent teeth only. Source: Al-Rafee et al., Frontiers in Public Health 2019 — source link
  • Tooth loss (more than 2 missing teeth): 48.9% — Makkah (2025); Stable; low confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Cross-sectional study of 307 partially dentate adults (18+, already at least one missing tooth) at Umm Al-Qura prosthodontic clinics, Feb-Sep 2024. 150 (48.9%) had more than two missing teeth. 38.4% aged 19-39. Not community prevalence and not an elderly sample. Source: Prevalence and sociodemographic factors associated with tooth loss patterns, Saudi Dent J 2025 — source link
  • Dentist count 2023: 25,970 dentists — National (2023); Rising; high confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Not comparable with the 33,751 total reported by GaStat/MOH for 2024. The roughly 30% difference between the two figures may reflect a changed cadre definition (dentists only versus dentists plus dental specialists or auxiliaries), different registry coverage, or a different reporting methodology. The published sources do not document their definitions in enough detail to reconcile them, so the two figures are treated as a non-comparable series and no year-on-year growth should be inferred. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Gini coefficient private sector: 0.6 index — National (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Al-Bahah: 9 per 10,000 — Al-Bahah (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Makkah: 4.5 per 10,000 — Makkah (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Periodontitis in diabetics (Riyadh case-control): 40% — Riyadh (2001); Point estimate; medium confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. From a single included study: a Riyadh case-control study of 40 people (20 diabetics, 20 controls). The review reports no pooled estimate; another included study reports 65% vs 31%. Source: Almas et al. 2001, via Cureus systematic review 2024 — source link
  • Dentist density Bishah: 8.8 per 10,000 — Bishah (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Qaseem: 8.7 per 10,000 — Qaseem (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Aseer: 8.4 per 10,000 — Aseer (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • HNC cases, cumulative 2016-2020 (Saudi Cancer Registry): 3,232 cases — National (2016-2020); Point estimate; medium confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Cumulative total across five registry years (average ~646 cases/year). Not an annual figure. Homeida reports incidence remained stable across 2016-2020, so a five-year stock is not a trend. Source: Homeida L. 2025, J Contemporary Medical Sciences (Saudi Cancer Registry 2016-2020) — source link
  • Dentist count 2019: 18,813 dentists — National (2019); Rising; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Jeddah: 7.9 per 10,000 — Makkah (Jeddah) (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Riyadh: 7.6 per 10,000 — Riyadh (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Ha'il: 7.5 per 10,000 — Ha'il (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Najran: 7.3 per 10,000 — Najran (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Qurayyat: 7.1 per 10,000 — Qurayyat (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Al-Jouf: 6.7 per 10,000 — Al-Jouf (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Caries prevalence schoolchildren 6-12 (Dammam): 73% — Eastern Province (Dammam) (2015); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Source wording is "almost 73%". Examinations Feb-May 2014; pooled 6-9 and 10-12 age groups. Source: Farooqi et al., Saudi Medical Journal 2015 — source link
  • Mean dmft primary dentition: 5 dmft — National (1988-2010); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Secondary estimate: quoted from Al Agili 2013 systematic review (DOI 10.1016/j.sdentj.2012.10.002) of studies conducted 1988-2010, cited by Aljafen 2026. Not a current measurement. Source: Aljafen, Splieth & Schmoeckel, Children (MDPI) 2026 — source link
  • HNC female: 35.6% — National (2016-2020); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Share of the cumulative 2016-2020 head & neck cancer cases: 1,150/3,232 = 35.58%. The paper prints 35.5%. Source: Homeida L. 2025, J Contemporary Medical Sciences (Saudi Cancer Registry 2016-2020) — source link
  • HNC cases, annual average 2016-2020: 646 cases — National (2016-2020); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Derived by dividing the cumulative 3,232 registry cases by five years (646.4, rounded). The published study reports only the five-year total. Case definition: ICD-11 anatomic head and neck cancer (lip, tongue, mouth, salivary glands, pharynx, nose/sinuses, larynx); excludes brain, thyroid, eye, esophagus and skin. Source: Homeida L. 2025, J Contemporary Medical Sciences (Saudi Cancer Registry 2016-2020) — source link
  • Any missing tooth, adults 35–74: 69% — Riyadh (2018-2019); Point estimate; low confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. 426/618 (69%) had one or more teeth missing (includes complete edentulism). Strict partial loss approx. 67%. Same clinic cohort (n=618, ages 35-74, Sep 2018-Jan 2019). 2020 paper = missing teeth; 2025 paper = prosthetic status/need. 51.8% of the sample is aged 35-44. Source: Almusallam & AlRafee 2020, J Family Med Prim Care — source link
  • Shisha as share of tobacco use: 53.9% — Al-Hassa (c. 2010); Point estimate; medium confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Primary source: Amin et al. 2010, PMID 20843104 (Al-Hassa secondary-school sample), linked directly. The 2024 Tobacco Induced Diseases article is the citing paper, not the original study. Not a national figure. Source: Amin et al. 2010, Al-Hassa secondary-school sample (PubMed 20843104) — source link
  • Global average dentist density (World, UN SDG): 3.22 per 10,000 — Global (2023); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Metric definition: UN SDG indicator 3.c.1 world aggregate for 2023, dentists only (ISCO-08 2261). The 5.5 per 10,000 world figure quoted elsewhere is not comparable: it covers the broader dentistry-personnel cadre (dentists plus auxiliaries) and a different reference year. Compare the Kingdom against this figure only on the dentists-only definition. No 2020 world figure is published on the dentists-only series. Source: UN Statistics — source link
  • Diabetes prevalence adults 20-79: 23.1% — National (2024); Rising; high confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Age-standardised prevalence, IDF Diabetes Atlas 11th edition (2024 estimates). Crude prevalence 21.4% = 5,344.6 / 24,983.1 thousand; the linked member page does not print 21.4%. Source: IDF Diabetes Atlas — source link
  • Total adults with diabetes: 5,344,600 adults — National (2024); Rising; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: IDF Diabetes Atlas — source link
  • Dentist density 2019: 6.3 per 10,000 — National (2019); Rising; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Medinah: 6.7 per 10,000 — Medinah (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Hafr Al-Baten: 6.6 per 10,000 — Hafr Al-Baten (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Eastern Province: 6.6 per 10,000 — Eastern Province (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Al-Ahsa: 6.6 per 10,000 — Al-Ahsa (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Tabouk: 6.5 per 10,000 — Tabouk (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Ta'if: 6.4 per 10,000 — Makkah (Ta'if) (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Northern Borders: 6.1 per 10,000 — Northern Borders (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Qunfudah: 5.2 per 10,000 — Makkah (Qunfudah) (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Dentist density Jazan: 4.8 per 10,000 — Jazan (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Periodontitis in non-diabetics (Riyadh case-control): 10% — Riyadh (2001); Stable; low confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Control arm of the same 2001 Riyadh study (n=20). Not a national estimate. Source: Almas et al. 2001, via Cureus systematic review 2024 — source link
  • Private sector share of dentists: 70% — National (2023); Stable; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Nearly 70% of the 23,649 regionally assigned dentists (16,676). Against the full 25,970 workforce the share is 64.2%. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link
  • Restorative dentists KSA: 2,047 dentists — National (2024); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Source: PMC12797919 (peer-reviewed study) — source link
  • Adults with attachment loss ≥4 mm (Jazan): 57.8% — Jazan (2018); Point estimate; medium confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Sample of 204 adults, 84% male. Paper reports CAL ≥4 mm in 57.8% (not ≤4 mm). Same study as the 46.1% pocketing card. Source: Journal of International Medicine and Dentistry 2018 — source link
  • Plaque-induced gingivitis among dental college outpatients (Jeddah, n=197): 100% — Makkah (Jeddah) (2020); Stable; low confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Data collected Nov 2019-May 2020 among 197 routine patients at a single Jeddah college clinic. Small convenience sample. Source: Int. Journal of Medical Research & Health Sciences — source link
  • Periodontal disease pooled prevalence: 46.2% — Pooled regional/clinical evidence (2025); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Pooled estimate, not a national survey: the underlying studies are regional or clinic-based samples with differing case definitions and examination protocols, so it has no nationwide sampling frame and cannot be generalised to the Saudi population. Source: PMC11988613 (peer-reviewed review) — source link
  • Periodontal disease pooled prevalence (Hakeem): 51% — Pooled regional/clinical evidence (2023); Point estimate; medium confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Pooled estimate reported by Hakeem et al. (Saudi Dental Journal 2023) from regional and clinic-based Saudi studies; there is no nationwide sampling frame, and the pooled studies differ in case definition and population. Single point estimate — not a time series. Source: Hakeem et al., Saudi Dental Journal 2023 — source link
  • Saudi dentists in MOH sector: 92% — National (2023); Stable; low confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Disputed figure — read both readings. Reported in Kattan et al. 2026: 92% of MOH-sector dentists are non-Saudi. Supported by the underlying MOH Statistical Yearbook 2023: the reverse — 6,527 Saudi dentists of 7,056 in the MOH sector (92.5% Saudi, only 7.5% non-Saudi). Kattan et al. appears to invert the sector-by-nationality split; the value shown here follows the yearbook. Independently corroborated by Aboalshamat et al. 2025. Source: MOH Statistical Yearbook 2023 (corrected) — source link
  • Non-Saudi dentists in private sector: 67% — National (2023); Point estimate; low confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Disputed figure — read both readings. Reported in Kattan et al. 2026: 67% of private-sector dentists are Saudi. Supported by the underlying MOH Statistical Yearbook 2023: the reverse — 5,554 Saudi dentists of 16,676 in the private sector, i.e. 11,122 non-Saudi (about 67% non-Saudi). Kattan et al. appears to invert the sector-by-nationality split; the value shown here follows the yearbook. Independently corroborated by Aboalshamat et al. 2025. Source: MOH Statistical Yearbook 2023 (corrected) — source link
  • Dental treatment needs average: 59.32% — National (c. 2013); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. Traces to a review of studies up to about 2013; the citing paper's own analysis gives 58.77%. Source: PMC12314010 (peer-reviewed review) — source link
  • Complete edentulism, adults 35-74: 1.8% — Riyadh (2018-2019); Stable; low confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Convenience sample of 618 patients aged 35-74 at Riyadh dental care centres, not a population survey. Edentulism concentrates in the oldest age band. Same clinic cohort (n=618, ages 35-74, Sep 2018-Jan 2019). 2020 paper = missing teeth; 2025 paper = prosthetic status/need. 51.8% of the sample is aged 35-44. Source: Almusallam & AlRafee 2020, J Family Med Prim Care — source link
  • Daily hookah use among current hookah users (online survey): 38.8% — Unspecified (online survey) (2025); Point estimate; low confidence; last verified 15 Sept 2026. Self-selected online survey, n=227. Not a national population estimate. Source: Int. Journal of Community Medicine & Public Health — source link
  • Average dentist density ratio (MOH ~2014): 4.11 per 10,000 — National (2014); Stable; medium confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Derived from MOH yearbook data of about 2014. Not comparable to the 7.7 per 10,000 MOH-derived density for 2023. Source: PMC12314010 (peer-reviewed review) — source link
  • Caries prevalence, primary teeth (Orfali 2023, nationwide): 72.1% — National (2023); Point estimate; high confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Abstract-verified: nationwide cross-sectional survey of 19,870 school children aged 6, 12 and 15, stratified multistage cluster random sampling (PMID 38107051). The published abstract reports 65.6% overall prevalence, 72.1% in primary teeth and 61.7% in permanent teeth. The 72.1% figure is therefore a primary-dentition prevalence, which is close to but not identical with an age-6 prevalence. Source: Orfali et al., Saudi Dental Journal 2023 — source link
  • Caries prevalence age 12 (Orfali 2023, nationwide): 57.9% — National (2023); Point estimate; medium confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Age-12 stratum of the nationwide 2023 survey (PMID 38107051). The published abstract reports prevalence by dentition (65.6% overall, 72.1% primary, 61.7% permanent) rather than by age, so this age-specific value comes from the full-text tables and is flagged pending full-text re-verification. Still materially lower than the undated MOH awareness-page claim of 93.7% at age 12. Source: Orfali et al., Saudi Dental Journal 2023 — source link
  • Caries prevalence age 15 (Orfali 2023, nationwide): 66.5% — National (2023); Point estimate; medium confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Age-15 stratum of the nationwide 2023 survey (PMID 38107051). The published abstract reports prevalence by dentition rather than by age, so this age-specific value comes from the full-text tables and is flagged pending full-text re-verification. Source: Orfali et al., Saudi Dental Journal 2023 — source link
  • Caries prevalence overall, ages 6-15 (Orfali 2023, nationwide): 65.6% — National (2023); Point estimate; high confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Abstract-verified overall prevalence across the 6-, 12- and 15-year strata; 19,870 children, stratified multistage cluster random sampling (PMID 38107051). This is the primary national estimate on this page: it states its year, sample and design, unlike the undated MOH awareness-page figures of 96% and 93.7%. Source: Orfali et al., Saudi Dental Journal 2023 — source link
  • Caries prevalence, permanent teeth (Orfali 2023, nationwide): 61.7% — National (2023); Point estimate; high confidence; last verified 16 Sept 2026. Abstract-verified permanent-dentition prevalence from the nationwide 2023 survey (PMID 38107051), reported alongside 72.1% in primary teeth and 65.6% overall. Source: Orfali et al., Saudi Dental Journal 2023 — source link
  • Dentist density per 10,000: 7.7 per 10,000 — National (2023); Rising; high confidence; last verified 4 Aug 2026. MOH-derived density (2023). Differs from the UN SDG series and from the 4.11 utilisation ratio because of different cadre definitions and years. Source: Kattan 2026, PLOS ONE — source link

How we judge a source

  • "National" requires a nationwide sampling frame or an official national dataset with documented methodology; pooled regional or clinic-based evidence is labelled "Pooled regional/clinical evidence".
  • A rising or falling trend requires at least two comparable measurements over time with compatible populations and methods; everything else is a point estimate.
  • Convenience, walk-in, clinic and self-selected online samples are not generalised nationally.
  • Confidence reflects study design, dating and documented methodology, not publisher type.
  • Conflicting figures are shown side by side only with a metric-definition note; incompatible figures are never harmonised.
  • The 25,970 dentists reported for 2023 and 33,751 for 2024 come from different publications and are treated as a non-comparable series; no one-year growth should be inferred.